NaPoWriMo 2024 ~ Day 10

Standard

You can read the full post here.

Today’s featured participant is the sea close by.

Our resource for the day is the YouTube channel of Canada’s Griffin Poetry Prize, where you’ll find videos of past prize nominees as well as discussions of the art of translation.

PROMPT:

Ezra Pound famously said that “poetry is news that stays news.” While we don’t know about that, the news can have a certain poetry to it. Today, we’d like to challenge you to write a poem based on one of the curious headlines, cartoons, featured at Yesterday’s Print.

Happy writing!

It’s really hard to think we are already 1/3 of our way through NaPo! WOW – that went by fast! I started with the featured poem, Ode to the Mandarin. I loved that Hannah, (who wrote today’s featured poem) has found Pablo Neruda and has been reading a lot of his work recently.

The spouting
juice
that kisses
your face
with sweetness.

Oh dear fruit!
Let
me hide
in your
orange
cradle.

A beautiful, evocative poem.

I then looked at today’s resource Griffin Poetry Prize, I picked a video to play and know I shall return to watch more in the future. A great Canadian resource.

Emily Riddle reads “Red” from The Big Melt.

PROMPT:

As a teen writing poems, I would often take a newspaper headline or unusual media story as stimulus. I liked the idea that our selected resource Yesterday’s Print focusses on old stories. I went in search of something curious.

It took a while but eventually I found the perfect start (and a sprinkle of intrigue).

The page was set to roll another (perhaps humorous) NaPo poem out. Fun to write and finished before I knew it (as fast as polishing off a doughnut)!

This would be as close to a food fight

as the graveyard inhabitants could manage.

Photo by KATRIN BOLOVTSOVA on Pexels.com

Leave a comment