NaPoWriMo 2021 Day 13

Standard

Day Thirteen Click to read the full post

Today, our featured participant is . . . two featured participants, because I couldn’t pick just one. Here, in response to our “past and future” prompt, is unassorted stories‘ vertiginous poem that takes you from Ancient Greece up into the stars, and Selma‘s poem that lets you peek into the pulse of Marcus Claudius Marcellus, a consul and general of Rome.

Today, our featured reading is a live event that will take place tomorrow, April 14, at 7 p.m. eastern daylight time. Poet Mark Wunderlich will read via Zoom for the reading series at Bennington College.

Today’s prompt comes from the Instagram account of Sundress Publications, which posts a writing prompt every day, all year long. This one is short and sweet: write a poem in the form of a news article you wish would come out tomorrow.

Happy writing!

Photo by Aphiwat chuangchoem on Pexels.com

Just like Day 12 – I am still catching up with some of my NaPo gaps, before I go offline I wanted to make sure I had placed today’s prompt here. I will be back to add more about process and outcomes in the small hours or tomorrow, please do check back.

UPDATE

PROCESS NOTES:

I read the participant’s poems, great to have two featured. It must be hard to decide some days. The first one is a from a blog already in my reader. Divination spoke to me of the horrendous things humans did to each other in the past (but also still do today) and how sometimes the best way of getting what you need is to take the opposite (much less violent/hateful) approach.

we would be declared unpersons

As light-centuries passed
we hacked the future
found a probability world

I was interested that the prompt had encouraged the poet to look at historic artefacts. It is a confident ekphrastic poem.

I liked how the two dictionary resources were weaved through the second poem A Peek into the Pulse of Past and Future. I love the fact that Selma Martin includes process notes on her writing/challenge too. Kinship.

 And so twirling his thumbs until hypnotized into the fourth dimension,
 Marcellus, Marcus Claudius walked with the Tiber beating inside him.

I wasn’t able to make the featured reading as I was booked into other events. I did find this video and used it as a substitute for the Bennington College Reading.

I was excited to discover Mark Wunderlich.

The prompt led me to a brilliant Instagram account. I am new to this platform and host a blank page on IG as I joined purely to access poetry readings in Lockdown 1 2020. I spent a long time checking out the Sundress Academy. I have a feeling I had come across their retreats/website before. I saved some of the Sundress Publications IG prompts to use post-Napo.

The poem for this prompt came quite fast and was written in a block like a newspaper article complete with capitalization/ headline title.

despicable treachery

this isn’t so much an extract than the telling of the whole story!

I thoroughly enjoyed today’s NaPoWriMo readings, resource and prompt.

Leave a comment