Poems on Nuclear Impact, David Bowie and Al Capone

Standard

As with January, I have focussed on editing and new writing this month. Sometimes there are submissions and performances that you already have the perfect poem for and other times you have no choice but to create something new. This is when you end up with a wide frame of subjects hitting your desk at the same time.

As a teen I was a member of YOUTH CND and have always been a fighter of all things nuclear. A subject close to my heart didn’t need lots of research to produce material but I decided that I did need to research. I was a teen a long time ago and people have had to live with nuclear fall out for decades since disasters.

On a completely different planet (so it felt), I immersed myself with the words of David Bowie, lyrics, interviews, articles and notes. I loved every minute of this work. I was saddened when I heard that he had died and to be able to write poetry in tribute to such a great man felt a solid thing to do, from one lover of words to another.

By the end of month I was researching the Valentine Day Massacre and creating poetry based on the people involved as well as the story. This labour of love was sickening at times but now I have notes to create a longer sequence of poems and just wonder if there are any publishers out there brave enough to touch such subjects.

In between the central research I have completed, edited and written non-themed free poetry. Some of the poems have released mourning and others are just to be. I am delighted for the 2nd month I have managed to create lots of new poems, I haven’t counted them all but it is around 17 new poems. This follows a winter of frozen mind block and is a great start to the year.

2012 brighton 427

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Review of the Month – February 2016 | awritersfountain

Leave a Reply

