INKSPILL A Breakfast Book Discussion

Standard

stock-illustration-5714066-pancake-breakfast-of-kingsNow this is only going to work if you get active! So grab yourself the type of breakfast you can still be online with and JOIN IN!

inkspill-pink2014

Breakfast2Book Discussion

Let’s talk books;

  • What are some of your all time favourite books and why?

 

  • What books have given you hope in times of difficulty?

 

  • Which authors do you most admire?

Let us know – comment on this thread…. let’s talk! piles_of_books-red

 

10 responses »

  1. I’m a scriptwriter and prose kinda guy, I couldn’t write a poem or a lyric to save your life yet my writing heroes are Emily Dickinson, Suzanne Vega, Christina Rosetti and Dar Williams, all poets. Plus Alan Plater, Paul Auster and ignore-her-politics Patricia Highsmith.

  2. I love Little Women – I remember reading it as a young girl and comparing myself to Jo yet trying so hard too be good like Beth so that I’d be loved like she was! Therefore whenever I’m feeling lost or alone or like I’m not quite trying hard enough I go back to it and it reminds me to keep trying.

    • That’s brilliant the impact characters have on our lives. I remember reading Little Women, it was the first book to defeat me – it took a couple of attempts to get through.
      At the time I was reading Waterbabies and The Railway Children, that was the first novel I had – before that was picture books and Enid Blyton books.

      • I loved Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree. I remember spending many an hour in the treetops with Moonface and the gang! So excited to hear they plan to make it into a movie!

  3. My favourite books from childhood are The Water Babies & The Railway Children. Nowadays I challenge myself to read a range of genres. I really enjoyed the Plum Series by Janet Evanovich, I love reading autobiographies. Playwrights Samuel Beckett, Sam Shepherd, Dario Fo

    Authors I most admire- Paulo Coelho, & poets Wendy Cope & Emily Dickinson.

  4. Some of my lasting favorites: Watership Down, L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables series , Reading Lolita in Tehran, The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell, Lauren Willig’s Pink Carnation series and Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey and Maturin (Master and Commander) series. Yes, I love a series! And I admire authors who can write one that keeps you excited, interested and connected throughout. Also adore authors who break tradition (and new ground) like Umberto Eco, Slaman Rushdie, and Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Such vision and literary courage in that group!

  5. Pingback: INKSPILL 2014 Links | awritersfountain

Leave a Reply

