A Year in a Jar 2013

Standard

At the end of 2012 (which had to be one of the worst years of my life) I read an inspirational post on social media. The idea behind it is you keep track of achievements in your life by writing them down and placing them in a jar. Then on New Year’s Eve, you open it and read the review of your successes over the year.

Here are the images of my 1st attempt at this feel good/ gratitude idea and I strongly advise you try it next year!
This is the funky bottle I chose to make me feel good – I thought even a few good things would fill this jar.JAN 10 jAR and I was right by the end of January Jan Jar

In February I found a bigger jar Feb Jar and 1/3 of the way through the end of the year (April) it looked like this!
April jar

By August 2/3 of the way through the year and in a new house it looked like this August jar

 

 

 

jar and finally this is what it looks like now – I have a few more to add before the end of the year and will be sure to post some images of the grade unveiling! Something to look forward to on NYE!

 

I can remember some of the bigger achievements and a lot of these will be about my developing good health – I hardly recognise my life compared to 12 months ago. Amongst the achievements I can recall are;

Starting a blog

Looking for a house

Moving house

Moving in with Mr G

Starting to write again

Sending submissions and book proposals

Getting published

Leaving work

Finding new work

Performing Poetry

Attending numerous workshops and events

Meeting lots of famous poets

Getting better

Putting the flat up for sale

 

So get your jars saved and ready!

happynewy

17 responses »

    • It is isn’t it! Helps see the good in a year that may feel it wasn’t all that. Having said that 2013 has been my best year yet! And I look forward to 2014 being EVEN better!

    • Awwww I will definitely read it – thanks for the link, rushing around now it’s Christmas eve and came online to respond to people’s comments as I have been offline a lot recently and I like to respond promptly. After Boxing Day I plan on treating myself to some time back in the fountain and will check it out then x
      Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks – I am looking forward to taking lots of photos of them and having a read how I achieved an incredible 2013 and of course then I shall be filling my jar again in 2014. I have the little pieces of paper ready! 🙂

Leave a Reply

