SOLC – Slice of Life Challenge – A Grand Day!

Standard

sols_6Today has been a wonderfully inspiring mixture of events and coincidences! So much so that I have decided to post this general slice and link the other posts into it.
I have JUST realised it is TUESDAY still – so this qualifies as my SLICE OF LIFE post for this week – I would love to start the ritual of a weekly post again and get time to read other slicers – maybe in the NEW YEAR!

I worked today – I was booked for the morning only – which is a farce because it is always afternoon before you leave. I didn’t get a break and worked through what would have been dinner if I had worked all day – so I did 5.5 hours without food, water or breaks! Small wonder I felt a little aggrieved by the time I left. Not to mention the first lesson was a practical science class and I had no support! The kids were fabulous though and I shouldn’t complain because it is still worlds better than it used to be!

Next came the adventure of collecting my nephew’s birthday gift – which I ordered online on Sunday and was a Click and Collect – ready in store yesterday – but I spent the whole day writing and the evening out at Amy Rainbow’s Book Launch. It took an hour – because I had to go through the store with a basket 1st, there were a few small items I needed to buy including a snood to replace the one I lost last night at the book launch. I collected his gift and had planned to go home via shops in town, but after I had fought the great battle with the self serve tills I had had enough and came home.
I had an hour before another appointment. I spent it online and discovered that Joanna Skelt – the Poet Laureate was organising a Mellow Winter Evening Event at the REP Theatre which started at 5.30pm, I wasn’t sure I would make it in time – but I did.
It was great, a lovely way to break into the evening.

Joanna was fantastic and performed a lot of her jazz inspired/ jazz poetry, Jan Watts (former Laureate) performed her theatrical, funny, less mellow poetry, I had a chance to read a set of my own, Charlie Jordan shared one of hers and other people performed poetry and music, it was a great night.

Afterwards I made my way home via the Frankfurt Christmas Market – I may have some poetry dresses for next year – an inspirational device to make me lose weight! I sampled lots of tasty treats and bought a few gifts before coming home!

A great day and a grand adventure.

PLUS
The Moon tonight was massive and beautiful (I should describe it more poetically) I wanted to snap a picture but was driving on the motorway at the time and couldn’t!

I phoned Recon (venue last night) and THEY HAVE MY SNOOD – it is in lost property… they will keep it safe until I manage to travel over that way – guess I will take my new one back for a refund!

6 responses »

    • We should be used at the lack of breaks, just a little full on, when you work through all of them, had a great time teaching the classes though, so mustn’t grumble. I did get to sit down to mark the books! And no-one stopped me having the breaks – it was just my own need.
      The poetry evening WAS wonderful – I am so glad I had the energy to go and I hope Joanna Skelt hosts another one soon!

  1. Your day was so full, and sounds just great. Lucky to get that snood back, lucky you went home only to discover about the poetry event. Things just happen so beautifully sometimes. Happy Holidays-hope you’re back.

    • I will be back in the New Year to write more slices and read some. My days either tend to be completely empty and footloose or manically action packed! It is wonderful how the universe sometimes slips all the pieces right into place isn’t it.
      Happy Holidays

Leave a Reply

