Reading Life App Testing, Work and the Spoken Word

Standard

Reading Life App Testing, Work and the Spoken Word

What do all these things have in common? They are all supposed to happen tomorrow. black-tablet-pc

Last month I was invited to participate in some research for Helen Cross who is testing various reading apps. at the University tomorrow.

  • Helen Cross is an English author.  She was raised in East Yorkshire and educated at the University of East Anglia. Cross’s first novel, My Summer of Love, was published in 2001 and was the winner of a Betty Trask Award in 2002. Wikipedia
    © 2013 Google
    This may well have been one of the most exciting opportunities of 2013 however, we were just small groups selected to test a variety of reading apps.
    I had already rescheduled my slot as I realised tomorrow night is also the next SpeakEasy and I cannot travel the 30miles between venues fast enough… I have also lost some work booked for next week and am about to have 2 weeks off for Christmas which is lovely but UNPAID! Somehow I have to afford Christmas Presents etc. so I am not really in a position where I can turn down work.
    The whole point of working this way was to incorporate my writing life into the mix and STILL pay the mortgages (sadly still plural at this stage as the apartment is still up or sale!) I will endeavour to keep the Writer Life arrangements in the future… but at the moment I have to think of income.
    After work I have a local engagement and then at tea time over to the city for the 3rd SpeakEasy. Due to the way it is organised I won’t be performing again this month, unless I get there early and sign for one of  3 or 4 open mic slots! I have a poem in reserve but it is all in the lap of the God’s whether I make it in time or just go and enjoy it, like I did the first time – way back in October.
    stack-angle
    Whether I get to watch like my 1st event or perform, like the 2nd, I know it will be a good night!
2 responses »

  1. I’m always amazed at how much you get done. I think you are really incorporating writing in to many aspects of your life.
    Hope the night out was fodder for more writing!

  2. Thanks – I am driven to do all that I am doing – I also recognise that there are only so many things that can be done. This week I have worked all week and had 2 poetry events – there are 2 other events I elected to miss this week – a book launch and a night of spoken word – due to the fact that I need sleep, want to fix up the Christmas decorations etc. etc.

    I amaze myself with all I have managed to accomplish since OCT but I truly believe when you tap into what it is you’re meant to be doing everything flows, the energy to do it, the money to afford it – the opportunity to find it…

    It makes me happy, I haven’t felt like this for years.

    I find it hard to imagine that I denied myself this for 10years (not writing) and 15 years (not performing!) I won’t bail on myself again!

Leave a Reply

