Daily Archives: October 20, 2013

Hay House World Summit 2013

Standard

I only found out about this event today, it is the first time Hay House have done a free online summit. It was held between October 12 -18th and 35 interviews from the original 100 are still available to listen to for the next 10 hours.

Well worth a look. You may find some guidance very useful.

http://www.hayhouseworldsummit.com/listen/

 

Getting Poetry Published – A Workshop by Jane Commane- Birmingham Literature Festival

Standard

blf logo

We are nearly at the end of all my articles about the Birmingham Literature Festival.

BLF Poetry workshop in publishing with Jane Commane – Editor, Nine Arches Press.

I had looked forward to this poetry workshop since I booked it in August. Sometime in early October, I was worried that I had perhaps booked onto a workshop for poet’s at an earlier stage in their careers. It was all about getting published and I have been published since 1991.

I originally thought it might be a good way of finding out up to date information and getting research without having to research. Lots has changed in the world of publishing since 2003, when I last wrote and was published.

The day finally came (after 3 days of full time work, travelling, planting the garden with Spring flowers, a book launch, an afternoon film and an evening poetry performance) I was really tired. I overslept. Snoozed through all alarms and was only woken by Mr G phoning me (coincidentally). I literally had 20 minutes to get up and ready and out on the road. I prayed that I would make it in time and find parking!

If it had been a free event I think I would have missed it and gone back to bed, but I couldn’t!

It was a great workshop (again the small poetry world) out of the handful of attendees I had met 2 of them at the writers network meeting a few weekends ago. We had some time to look at poetry magazines and a few names were dropped that I have highlighted in my notebook for some additional research. As far as the rest of the workshop – it consolidated what I already knew.

I already have a published track record and what I am attempting currently is to get some more up to date poetry published for the CV and then I am going to write my own collection.

It was fun, I feel right at home in writing workshops. writingrut

Picture it & Write – Scars of Art

Standard

pictureitandwrite2copy-12 Click on the button to find out all about this challenge. I am so happy to be back writing for challenges.

A BIG Thank you to Ermisenda and Eliabeth the co-authors of this blog, I have taken part in the challenges for a while now, recently I have returned to the performance poetry circuit and started going to Stanza meetings where other wonderfully talented poets help me polish and edit my words.

I have used 3 pieces so far to perform or work on and ALL of them were born from the Picture it and Write challenge. So thank you…. we never know where the words will take us.

tumblr_mb98diXJe31rs8w78o1_500

 

Staring into the bathroom mirror

he focuses on the ink,

His latest facial body art,

loudly declaring raw feelings.

 

The past decade of struggle

confined in a minute black tear.

He is the only one who

knows the full story.

 

He wants to let go of pain, feel his muscles relax.

He practises the feeling of freedom

Found beneath

the water.

 

Submerging his face

in a sink full of cold water.

It only takes a second for

the initial freeze to sooth.

 

He could cry here.

The tears would escape un-noticed.

Invisible in water.

Unseen.

 

All except the black ink tear

That will forever

Expose him.

A reminder of what should have been.

INKSPILL – Writing Retreat – Programme of Events

Standard

 INKSPILL writing retreat (25-28th October)

AWF oct

PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD BY CHOOSING A BUTTON TO ADD TO YOUR BLOG

AWF retreat2               awf suitcase             AWF Banner       AWF 2013

bonfire2 We hope you come and join us. Set life aside for a while and treat yourself to time on the FREE Inkspill Writing Retreat!

The Full Programme

AWF Banner

There have been some changes to today’s programme – the events that have been postponed will be covered at some point over the weekend.

FRIDAY 25th October – DAY 1

Inkspill tiny A welcome introduction to the weekend writing retreat.

AWF World map Register FREE – Information.

447777896_640 A short motivational video to get your creativity into a state of frenzy!

ticket1Ideas for writing everyday. (Participation for the 3 mornings of INKSPILL)

awf workshop First Dip (into the Fountain) a 3-part writing activity.

AWF Edit Time to work on your own writing projects.

Saturday 26th October – DAY 2

ticket1Ideas for writing everyday. (Participation for the 3 mornings of INKSPILL)

af6a8d6a523a755e956fbb7021443872 Open Discussion Writing Tips

AWF Edit Time to work on your own writing projects.

AWF circle Inkwell 1 – Historical Fiction & Research – your questions answered. Research, polls and questions posted on the blog in the summer. Alternative links will be available for those not interested in Historical Fiction.

af6a8d6a523a755e956fbb7021443872 Open Discussion My Writing Day

AWF night writeWriting Activity

Sunday 27th October – DAY 3

ticket1Ideas for writing everyday. (Participation for the 3 mornings of INKSPILL)

motivation believe Are You A Writer? Quiz.

AWF Banner A Matter of Design – Creating a Writing Space

AWF circle Inkwell 2 – Show Don’t Tell – your questions answered. Research, polls and questions posted on the blog in the summer.

AWF Edit Time to work on your own writing projects.

AWF free write Free write activity prompt

awf suitcaseGetting Organised

AWF Privacy Judging yourself – Techniques and ideas.

MONDAY AN EXTRA DAY OF INKSPILL OCTOBER 28th

ticket1Ideas for writing everyday. (Participation for the 3 mornings of INKSPILL)

AWF Speedwrite 10 Good Reasons to Write Stories

awf workshop How to Write Short Stories (Links to previously published articles)

AWF circle Inkwell 3 – How to write Comedy – your questions answered. Research, polls and questions posted on the blog in the summer. (Links to previously published articles.)

AWF 2013Over to You – Polls, Testimonials and more.

AWF retreat2 Final Feedback & Thank You/ Credits

inkspill disclaimerProgramme subject to change – the events will still be covered. Due to the late start of INKSPILL this weekend I have extended the posts to cover MONDAY as well – enjoy the extra day!

motivate worth I hope you give yourself a chance to experience some of INKSPILL. If you are GMT you can experience the whole retreat or parts of it in ‘real time’ if not use this page (I will make each part of the programme interactive – linked after it has been published) programme of events as contents to sequence your retreat. Pick and mix as you choose. Get involved and most of all… HAVE FUN!

bonfire2