A New Writing Opportunity

Standard

fs fireworksNine months in this writing skin and we are getting there… ‘cooking on gas’ now. I have learnt the art of self-promotion, or at least I am learning. It is bringing back memories of my time as a Performance Poet and my previous attempt at being a freelance writer. I am more secure in my words than I was before but funnily enough often feel less confident than the dynamic young 20 year old me ever did.

September has seen that ‘gas’ go up a notch and I am convinced that it all relates to the thoughts I had back in August. When after seven months of dabbling cross genre I decided it was time to buckle down with a serious focus. As poetry has always been ‘my bag’ and is the genre that holds the longest list of publishing credentials from back in the day when I used to be a writer, this is where I decided to plant my feet and start,

Since then I have found opportunity after opportunity. Site after site. Event after event and met some truly lovely people – all poet’s are – apart from the cantankerous, drunk ones! 😉 When I took my four hour round trip to Oswestry for the Writers’ Network Meeting, I sat there listening to Ian Billings and Simon Thirsk and felt inspired. I scribbled notes in my trusty writing notebook and had a billion conversations with myself in my head.

I nearly advertised INKSPILL and I wish I had been brave enough as people mentioned open mic nights and Stanza meetings, I was on the cusp of putting my hand up and then bottled it. I did mention it to everyone I mingled with afterwards.

One thing I did do was pluck up enough courage (I had plenty in reserve from not advertising Inkspill to everyone in the room!) to talk about my future plans and how I might be able to offer my experience of writing to others. (All a bit cryptic I know, but I don’t want to announce it until it is a signed deal and all official.) I have just received an email of acceptance and about to start the induction process on this new writing opportunity and I couldn’t be more excited!

Ask and you will receive.

Be brave.

Go for it.

You never know where it will lead!

imagesCAU6L67L

2 responses »

  1. Having only “met” you recently, and not having read all your blogs, I hope the cryptic opportunity came true.
    When you are at a function (conference, seminar, panel discussion) attended by people who are well known, it can take courage to interact.
    While I was a grad student, my supervisor hosted a conference. I helped with logistics, etc. and gave a paper in the student section to which I assumed only my student friends and two academics I knew personally would attend.
    To my surprise and fear, many of the people whose books I was studying for my degree were attending my session of student presentations.
    I made it through my presentation, but it was a good thing I was behind a dais as my knees and legs were feeling very weak. All of us in the student presentation sessions felt the same — in awe and much shier than we would normally be.
    I’ll have to catch up and see how things are turning out for you!

    • Wow, that sounds terrifying!
      It took some courage to make my approach. It has resulted in a voluntary apprenticeship which will hopefully lead to more work. So to answer your question… Yes, I got the job. I start in 2014 🙂

Leave a Reply

