Daily Post – Daily Prompt – Name that… You!

Standard

Find the original Daily Prompt here

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/daily-prompt-identity/#like-35836

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us IDENTITY.

I know that my name is Russian for Princess, as far as I know we have no Russian ancestors. My middle name also means princess and when I looked up the meaning of my surname (at the age of 12) I found out it means war.

Which sums me up nicely- Princess Princess War

You will be given at least 2 chances and after that – well woe betide you!

I know that my mother insisted on my name, Dad wanted to call me Melody, he is a Musician. I have always been fairly grateful for my mum stepping in and giving me a name more rare than Melody and less musically associated, unless you include the siren noises of my youth. (If you repeat my name over and over really fast it makes the same noise as an Ambulance siren might!)

It suits me for sure, when I first got to choose a pen-name, when I was first published, I just simply chose to hyphenate my first and middle name! It frustrated me as a child that in every holiday/seaside souvenir shop we could never find a pen, mug, eggcup, sticker or pad with my name on – and more recently I think Coke Cola let me down on naming a bottle after me!

I have only met 3 other people with my name in the 3 plus decades of my life – although 2 of these are recent. There are people out there with the same name and a few famous namesakes – although they are not really, as I am not named after them!

As far as children’s names we have a list – and just pray one day we get a tiny bundle to name ourselves. Although not being as brave as my mum, if it is a boy – its fate has already been sealed by daddy. (Mr G will have some explaining to do!)

 

A happy summer 2011

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: 2nd September 1987 | Everyday Adventures

  2. Pingback: What if I was a girl? By the way, I’m not! | Okay, what if ?

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: The Naming Game | A mom's blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  7. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  8. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  9. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  10. Pingback: Have You Seen Molly? | Molly Greye

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | My Atheist Blog

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

