FWF – Free Write Friday – Street View

Standard

This is my LATE entry for Kellie’s FWF – Free Write Friday Challenge, as it was my birthday weekend. I have found this image several times earlier this week whilst searching for artwork and images to use in the Inkspill portfolio.

free-write-friday-kellie-elmore

 

walmart man

 

He liked to watch the world from here,

Street level.

He wore dark glasses

So no-one could see his thoughts

or tears.

So much had changed.

This place moved on,

even when

people didn’t.

18 responses »

    • Thanks Kellie – so glad I made it! Funny how I saw this photograph 3 or 4 times yesterday!
      I have read lots of FWF today but have other bits online to catch up with before bed – I will try to read the rest before the next FWF.

      Thanks for your lovely comments. As for brevity – that’s where it ended.

  1. Yes I agree with Kellie. You paint such an evocative picture with so few words. The last three lines are terrific. It sums up so many country towns.

  2. A brilliant approach to the prompt. Here is my fav: “He wore dark glasses||So no-one could see his thoughts|| or tears.” I think that’s the reason I put on glasses at times.

  3. I am wondering if it isn’t John that is not moving on. Or is it his fate to be the observer of life in his small town. Hmm. The brevity speaks volumes!

    • John moves on in his mind everyday.
      He observes life and witnesses the changes. No one sees him.
      I think that was the initial essence of the ideas. But as with all poetry – you can read your own story 🙂

  4. People will try and hang on to what is familiar, even if the world around them changes. You express that wonderfully with John. Sorry I haven’t been back to follow up on comments!

    • It is no problem that you have been away from replies – I have been offline for 5 days – feels like 5 months!
      Thanks for the comment – John is certainly trapped in something.

      • Being offline is nice sometimes — taking a rest or being selective of how much and what you do!
        Nice to “hear” from you!

  5. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday; Pick a Title | terry1954

  6. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday, Childhood Gift | terry1954

  7. Pingback: #FWF Free Write Friday; Fall Word Bank | terry1954

Leave a Reply

